What Would You Do If You Could Do Anything?

rainbow

This morning I woke up thinking about the question:

What Would You Do If You Could Do Anything?

It’s such a simple question, and one that I’m sure everyone has been asked/asked before.

I went to design school. I majored in Fashion Design. I loved it. My dream was to have my own line, not to be famous, but to be recognized and appreciated for what I do. If someone asked me 5 years ago, “What would you do if you could do anything?” meaning money is not a factor, my answer would have been,”start my own line.”

For the last two weeks I was helping a friend of mine sew a couple of looks for a contest she entered. The prize is getting help starting her own line.

We worked tirelessly to make her dream come true. It’s funny, because I thought going into it, that I would feel inspired to do the same. To my surprise, I never had the thought, “I wish this was me” or “I wish I could get help starting my own line.”

While sewing, we were catching up, we hadn’t seen each other in a couple of years actually. I told her about my struggle between finding a job doing something I know how to do and I’m good at, and taking a different path.

That’s when she asked me, ” Well, if you had millions of dollars and you could do anything you wanted to do, what would it be?”

I thought about it and the first thing that came into my head was ” Travel and dance” (I’ve gotten really into dance the last 3 years).

Then she added ” I mean in fashion, what would you do if you could do anything in fashion?”

I told her, ” Actually, when you first asked, fashion didn’t even come into my head”

She replied, ” Well maybe that’s your answer.”

Then we spitballed ideas about what I could potentially do.

I’m glad she asked me this simple question, because it really made me think, maybe I’ll even come up with something good 🙂

So I have to ask… What would you do, if you could do anything?

You never know – maybe answering this question will lead you in the right direction…

2 thoughts on “What Would You Do If You Could Do Anything?

    • Thanks for your comment Rosie! By the way I love your blog! – I just read your “about me,” it almost felt like I was reading about myself lol. I also love that you appreciate design as an art form, which I have found is shockingly not a common opinion. Anyway, I’m so glad that you like my blog and I hope you keep reading! xo

Leave a Reply

